Bruschetta, my way!!!

Bruschetta, my way!!!

Bruschetta is one of those amazingly almost perfect foods (in your words Eric, “its like pizza!”).

As much as I love bruschetta, I am picky about several things:
1. The bread needs to be exceptional, hot and carrying it’s weight (or more) in olive oil
2. The tomatoes must also be exceptional and chilled (I only like tomatoes with integrity)
3. Must include sautéed onions (my other husband), strong basil (Thai basil fits the bill) and fresh mozzarella (the fresher the better)

I love this way of having bruschetta because the bread is hot, chewy, olive-oiley, the cheese is melty, the onions are cooked (and subtle) and the tomatoes are crisp, cold and delightful.

Ingredients for tonight’s bruschetta:

1 Loaf of fabulous local bread.  I expanded my typical Arizmendi repertoire (due to the ridiculous line out the door up the street and down the peninsula) and bought a Feta and Green onion loaf from the Crepe & Brioche stand at the market.  It was perfect.

2. Fresh, farmers market tomatoes. I bought some beautiful Olmeca-looking guys.

3. 1  onion

4. Handful of basil (I use Thai basil because it is stronger)

5.  1tbs butter, 1tbs olive oil

6. Fresh Mozzarella

Steps.

1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees

2. Sautee onions in butter and olive oil until tender and transparent. Add  basil and sautee a minute more

3. This step is called: SLICE SOME STUFF!  Slice the bread and tomatoes on two separate cutting boards (otherwise you will get soggy bread my friend). Then slice the Mozzarella into the desired thickness (a.k.a. how much cheese you want in your mouth at one time) and put aside.

4. Place the sliced bread on a baking sheet, flat, so the guys are side by side but not on top of each other.

5. Add the basil onion mixture and then the sliced mozzarella to each piece of bread. Bake until the cheese has melted (approximately 8 minutes).

6. Add the cold tomatoes to the hot bread. Finish with cracked pepper, salt and olive oil.

xo Rosie

One thought on “Bruschetta, my way!!!

Leave a Reply

